Risk Management & Insurance Industry - Knowledge & Resource Center

Professional Guides
  » Occupational Medicine

This guide is designed to identify the topics and resources of particular interest to those in the field of Occupational Medicine.

Doctors, nurses and professionals involved in occupational medicine must combine their medical talents and knowledge with an ability to understand and respond to environmental and workplace safety and health requirements.

Libraries and Directories Inc (LAD) has responded to this challenge by creating on-line resource libraries that create easy access to a variety of databases, templates, tutorials and tools that can assist in their day-to-day informational requirements.


Knowledge & Resources

Hot Topics

Disasters: Emergency Plans

Review the full text of emergency response plans to give you ideas for creating your own. Access checklists, guides, and information materials related to evacuations, first aid, environmental health and more. Determine what government services and relief agencies are available to provide assistance in the event of a disaster.

Hazards: Air

A wide range of air hazard information - dusts, indoor air, confined spaces, air quality, TLV, respirators, and ventilation.

Hazards: Biological

Biological and infection control information, biosafety, HACCP, needlesticks, etc.

Hazards: Chemicals

Various chemical hazard control resources - technical resources, databases related to chemical environmental/safety concerns, OSHA technical resources, lab safety, etc.

Hazards: Ergonomics

Reference materials, tools, resources to establish ergonomics programs, OSHA technical resources, and return to work information.

Hazards: Fire

Fire hazard safety information regarding arson, evacuations, fire safety and more.

Hazards: Food & Water

Food & water hazard control information - EPA & FDA regulations, food safety & inspections, HACCP, and environmental issues.

Hazards: Hazmat

Hazmat (hazardous materials) resources on chemicals, hazardous waste, OSHA technical resources: process safety, hazwoper & hazard communications.

Hazards: PPE

Personal Protective Equipment programs for the workplace, labortory procedures & programs, hearing protection,glove selection guides, and OSHA requirements.

Hazards: Radiation

Radiation hazard control topics: radon, EMF, lasers, medical radiology, US federal nuclear regulations and more

Insurance: Claims Management

Claim management guidelines, such as structured settlements, work-relatedness of diseases, disability costs, reserving guidelines, case law, databases of health codes including DRG, ICD-9, IDC-10, APG, etc.

Management: Injury

Injury management - OSHA resources, health, managed care and workers comp.

Management: Privacy

Privacy management from health privacy to e-privacy to identity theft to ERISA.

Management: Safety

Safety management topics: chemicals, disaster, ergonomics, fleet, OSHA, property, regulations, safety and security.

Management: Workplace Wellness

Workplace wellness management - exercises, nutrition, stress, first aid, drug free workplace and tobacco.

News: Alerts

Real time traffic reports, disaster warnings, safety & health hazard alerts and internet virus alerts.

News: Government Affairs

Updates from the EPA, DOT, DOL, OSHA and MSHA.

News: Headlines

Headline news from health, human resources, risk management, safety management and workers comp industries.

Occupational Medicine

A wide array of occupational medicine information including managed care, industrial hygiene, health, OSHA regulations, and safety.

Research: Companies

Locate information about your company, your competitors, your customers, potential vendors, etc. Find credit rating reports & financials. Conduct internet research on companies, such as any FTC actions or NLRB decisions.

Research: Databases

Online access to databases on a range of topics from chemicals to OSHA violations.

Samples: Forms & Checklists

Sample forms, fill-in-the-blank forms and checklists on a wide variety of insurance, risk management, safety management and disaster management topics.

Samples: Policies & Programs

Full text policies and programs from a large range of topics: emergency plans, hr policies, safety programs, ergonomics programs, business plans and more.

Software & Calculators

Take advantage of one of the cost-saving opportunities presented by the internet - the ability to download software and utilize online calculators useful for risk management and safety management.

US Laws & Regs

Full text of US federal laws and regulations.







Please report broken links by referencing the number in brackets in grey.

My Bookmarks | Last 25

Words of Wisdom

"Success usually comes to those who are too busy to be looking for it

- Paula Devico

Spotlight Resources
  - Case Law
  - Checklists
  - Databases
  - Forms
  - Government Agencies
  - Handouts
  - Industry Safety
  - Manuals
  - Programs
  - Statistics
  - Templates
Comic Relief

Yogi - isms

If you come to a fork in the road, take it.

- Yogi Berra